Overview of The United Arab Emirates (UAE)

Overview of The United Arab Emirates (UAE) Last updated on Monday 26th April 2010

Overview The United Arab Emirates (UAE)

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation consisting of seven sheikhdoms located on the Arabian Gulf. The seven sheikhdoms -- also called emirates -- are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ras al-Khaimah, Umm al-Qawain, Ajman and Fujairah. There are borders with Qatar, Saudi Arabia and Oman. The borders between the different sheikhdoms are not always precisely defined.

Country name:

United Arab Emirates (al-Imarat al-Arabiyya Al-Muttahida)

Land area

83,600 sq km (32,278 sq mi)



Population growth rate

1.59% (2001 estimation)

Birth rate

18.11 Birth per 1000 population (2001 estimation)

Death rate

3.79 deaths per 1000 population (2001 estimation)

Type of government

federation of emirates

Government leader

Sheikh Zaid bin Sultan al Nahayan, President


Federal National Council

Political subdivisions

7 emirates

Official language


Major religion


GDP- real growth rate

4% (2000 estimation)


Purchasing power parity- $54 billion (2000 estimation)

GDP- per capita

Purchasing power parity 22

Foreign trade

Imports $11 billion
Exports $21.3 billion


UAE dirham, divided into 100 fils
($1 = 3.66 dirhams)



Major ports


Major airfields


International dialing code


Time zone

GMT + 4 hours

As you like 'Overview of The United Arab Emirates (UAE)' you may also like following articles . . .

Geography of of United Arab Emirates (UAE): Introduction

United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven independent states located in the southeastern corner of the Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by the Arabian Gulf to the north, Saudi...

United Arab Emirates (UAE) Business: The Oil Industry

First exported in 1962, petroleum dominates the economy of the UAE. At one time an underdeveloped area, by 1985 the region had the highest per capita income in the world -- $19,120. The...

United Arab Emirates (UAE)

Overview History British influence Independence Geography Introduction Map Topography Climate Environment Bird life Conservation Business The oil industry Agriculture Culture...

Population of Algeria

31,193,917 (estimation of July 2000) Age structure: 0-14 years: 35% (male 5,591,044; female 5,389,046) 15-64 years: 61% (male 9,582,864; female 9,381,088) 65 years and over: 4% (male 577,...

Oman Overview

Official name The Sultanate of Oman (Saltanat Uman) Capital Muscat Head of state Sultan Qaboos bin Said, Sultan and Prime Minister Government Sultanate Legislature Consultative Council...

Overview of Saudi Arabia

Official name The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (Al-Mamlaka al-Arabiya as-Saudiya) Capital Riyadh (4.300.000 people, estimation of 2001) Population 17,050,934 (1992 estimate) Population density...

Overview of Iraq

Official title Republic of Iraq Capital Baghdad Population 3,844,608 in 1987 Religion Officially Islam, as Muslims form 95% of the population. Shiite Muslims (60%) live in the south, Sunni...