UAE Govt.: Introduction

UAE Govt.: Introduction Last updated on Monday 26th April 2010

123 Each emirate, Abu Dhabi [picture 1], Dubai [picture 2], Sharjah [picture 3], Ajman, Umm al-Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah, is named after its principal town.

Sheikh Zaid bin Sultan al-Nahayan, the ruler of Abu Dhabi, has been president the UAE state since 1971 and was re-elected to his fourth consecutive term in late 1991 by his colleagues on the Supreme Council of Rulers, the highest body in the country. The Vice-President and Prime Minister is the ruler of Dubai, Sheikh Maktoum bin Rashid al Maktoum. The Deputy Prime Minister is Sheikh Sultan bin Zayed Al Nahyan. There is also a Cabinet, and its posts are distributed among the seven emirates. (The members of the Cabinet are the government ministers, such as Minister of the Interior, etc.)

The Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces is the President while the second in command (Deputy Supreme Commander) is Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi. The Minister of Defence is Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum.

The parliament is known as the Federal National Council (FNC). It was established on 13th February 1972 and is considered a landmark in the country's constitutional and legislative process. The FNC advises the Cabinet and the Supreme Council but cannot overrule them. According to the constitution, the FNC consists of 40 members who are drawn proportionately from each of the seven emirates. Each ruler appoints the members for his emirate.

Distribution of FNC members is as follows:

Abu Dhabi 8 members

Dubai 8 members

Sharjah 6 members

Ras al Khaimah 6 members

Umm al Qawain 4 members

Ajman 4 members

Fujairah 4 members

The FNC is structured as follows:

A Speaker and his two deputies and two elected observers

The Parliamentary Section Executive Committee headed by the speaker, the council's undersecretary, the secretary general and four elected members.

There are also eight specialized committees dealing with studies regarding draft laws and general issues in addition to the legislative, legal, educational, health, social, planning, labour, oil and mineral resources, agriculture and fisheries and public work sectors.

The FNC has powers to amend and review all legislation and also to summon Ministers to review and criticize the work of their ministries.

Despite the fact that there is a federal government, each ruler is completely sovereign in his domain. Abu Dhabi has a National Consultative Council whose members come from some of the oldest families and tribes making up the population. In fact, most of the UAE government's money comes from Abu Dhabi and Dubai, which contribute a share of their oil revenues. As a result, they hold most of the important Cabinet posts.

The UAE was a founding member of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) created at a summit conference in Abu Dhabi in 1981. The members of the GCC include Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, the Sultanate of Oman as well as the UAE. The country is also a member of the League of Arab States, the Islamic Conference Organization, the United Nations and most of the UN's affiliate bodies.

As you like 'UAE Govt.: Introduction' you may also like following articles . . .

The State and System of the Kuwait Government

According to its constitution, Kuwait is a fully independent Arab state with a democratic system of rule and sovereignty is vested in the nation which represents the sources of all power....

Qatar Govt. Authority Within the State

The Emir The Emir is the Head of State. The present Emir is His Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani, son of the former Emir, Sheikh Khalifa bin Hamad Al-Thani. The Emir is...

Kuwait Govt.: Introduction

Kuwait was granted independence in 1961; in the same year it became a member of the Arab League, the Kuwait flag was hoisted on all governmental departments and institutions. In 1962 the...

Oman Government - Introduction

The Omani government has been progressively modernized and liberalized since Sultan Qaboos came to power in 1970. As sultan, Qaboos is head of state, prime minister, and minister of foreign...

Qatar Govt.: Introduction

Qatar is an emirate ruled by Sheikh Hamad Khalifa Al-Thani, who is the head of state. According to the modified provisional constitution, the Emir decrees laws upon the recommendation of...

Constitution of Comoros

According to the 1992 constitution, the head of state is a president elected by universal suffrage for a term of five years. There is in addition a legislative branch of government -- the...

Government of Egypt

Government type Republic Administrative divisions 26 governorates : Ad Daqahliyah, Al Bahr al Ahmar, Al Buhayrah, Al Fayyum, Al Gharbiyah, Al Iskandariyah, Al Isma'iliyah, Al Gizah, Al...