Government of Egypt

Government of Egypt Last updated on Friday 16th April 2010

Government type


Administrative divisions

26 governorates : Ad Daqahliyah, Al Bahr al Ahmar, Al Buhayrah, Al Fayyum, Al Gharbiyah, Al Iskandariyah, Al Isma'iliyah, Al Gizah, Al Minufiyah, Al Minya, Al Qahirah, Al Qalyubiyah, Al Wadi al Jadid, Ash Sharqiyah, As Suwaise, Aswan, Asyut, ::I, ::I, Dumyat, Janub Sina', Kafr ash-Shaykh, Matruh, Qina, Shamal Sinaa, Suhaj.

Legal system

The Egyptian judicial system is an amalgam of Islamic, French and English law with a hierarchy of courts descending from the Supreme Constitutional Court down to primary and summary tribunals in each of the country's 26 governorates (Muhafazat).

Executive branch

  • Chief of state: President Mohammed Hosni Mubarak.
  • Head of government: Prime Minister Atef Obeid.
  • Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president
  • Elections: president nominated by the "People's Assembly" for a six-year term, the nomination must then be validated by a national, popular referendum; national referendum last held 26 September 1999 (will nest be held in October 2005); prime minister appointed by the president
  • Election results: national referendum validated President Mubarak's nomination by the "People's Assembly" to a fourth term.

Legislative branch

Bicameral system consists of the "People's Assembly", or Majlis al-Sha'b (454 seats; 444 elected by popular vote, 10 appointed by the president; members serve five-year terms) and the "Advisory Council", or Majlis al-Shura - which functions only in a consultative role (264 seats; 176 elected by popular vote, 88 appointed by the president.

As you like 'Government of Egypt' you may also like following articles . . .

Overview of Mauritania

Official Name Mauritania (al-Jumhuriyah al-Islamiyah al-Muritaniyah) Government type: Republic Capital Nouakchott 800,000 people (1996). Other cities Nouadhibou 72,305; Kaédi 35,241; Kiffa...

Tunisia Govt.: National

Tunisia is a republic with a president who is the chief executive of the country and has considerable powers over the cabinet, prime minister, and armed forces. The executive cabinet is...

The State and System of the Kuwait Government

According to its constitution, Kuwait is a fully independent Arab state with a democratic system of rule and sovereignty is vested in the nation which represents the sources of all power....

Lebanon Govt. - National

Lebanon is a republic with a president, a cabinet and unicameral National Assembly. Until 1990 an unwritten agreement known as the National Pact specified that the president had to be a...

Somalia Govt.: The Pre-War Electorate

The overthrow of President Muhammad Siad Barre in January 1991 and the subsequent anarchy have left Somalia in a state of civil war with no clear central authority. Previously, under an...

Syria Government

The Syrian government is headed by President Bahsar al-Assad, leader of the Arab Ba'ath Socialist Party. The President has the power to appoint ministers of his own choice, which form the...

National Structure of Algeria

After a century of rule by France, Algeria became independent in 1962. The surprising first round success of the fundamentalist FIS (Islamic Salvation Front) party in December 1991...