Overview of Djibouti

Overview Djibouti Official Name Republic of Djibouti (République de Djibouti) Administrative divisions: 5 districts. Location An arid coastal zone around the Gulf of Tadjoura, Djibouti is just north of the Horn of Africa on the ::I strait at the southern entrance to the Red Sea. Area 8,949 sq. miles (23,180 sq. km) Independence 26 June 1977 President Hassan

Overview of Comoros

Overview Comoros Official Name Federal Islamic Republic of the Comoros Location Four islands in the Mozambique Channel roughly 500km west of the northern tip of Madagascar and 300km east of Mozambique. Area 2236 sq km, divided among the islands as follows: Njazidja (Grand Comore) -- 1148 sq km Nzwani (Anjouan) -- 424 sq km Mahoré (Mayotte) -- 374 sq km Mwali

Algeria overview

Algeria overview Official name Al-Jumhuriya al-Jazairia ash-Shaabiya Head of government Prime Minister Capital Algiers (population over 3 million) Other cities Oran (pop. over 1 million) Constantine (750,000) Annaba (450,000) Tizi Ouzou (350,000) Population 28,784,000 (1994) Languages Arabic (official), and Berber in some areas. Many people speak

Qatar Overview

Conventional Name State of Qatar / Dawlat Qatar. Capital Doha Head of State (Amir) HAMAD bin Khalifa Al-Thani. Prime Minister ABDALLAH bin Khalifa Al-Thani. Area 11,437 sq km (4,260 sq mi) Population 750,000 (estimation of 2000). Population density 52/km² (1999) Young people under 15 Years Old 26% (estimate 2000) Population growth

Egypt overview

Official Name Arab Republic of Egypt (Jumhuriyah Misr al-’Arabiyah) Location Northern Africa, bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Libya and the Gaza Strip Area total: 1,001,450 sq. km land: 995,450 sq. km water: 6,000 sq. km Capital Cairo (Al-Qahirah), 8,900,000 (estimation of 1995) Main Cities Alexandria (al-Iskandariyah) 3,382,000

Bahrain - Country Overview

Capital Manama Population 634,137 (estimation of July 2000, including 28,424 foreigners) Population density 909 per sq. km Distribution 81% urban, 19% rural Land area 678 sq. km (262 sq.miles) Elevations Lowest -- sea level Highest -- 135m (443ft) Official language Arabic Major religion Islam Literacy 85% (1995), male 89% (

Oman Overview

Official name The Sultanate of Oman (Saltanat Uman) Capital Muscat Head of state Sultan Qaboos bin Said, Sultan and Prime Minister Government Sultanate Legislature Consultative Council Administrative divisions 6 regions and 2 governorates: Ad Dakhiliyah, Al Batinah, Al Wusta, Ash Sharqiyah, Az Zahirah, Masqat, Musandam, Zufar. Legal system based