Overview of Kuwait

Overview of Kuwait Last updated on Tuesday 20th April 2010

Overview Kuwait

Official name

Kuwait (Dawlat al-Kuwayt)

Administrative divisions

5 governances


Kuwait (Al-Kuwayt), 1.090.000 people (1996)

Other cities

Al-Jahra (139.476 people), as-Salimiyah (116.104 people), Hawalli (84.478 people), al-Farwaniyah (47.106 people).


2.093.889 (December 1996)

Kuwaitis: 732.403

Non-Kuwaitis 1.361.486


Arabic is the official language; English is widely used in business


Kuwaiti dinar (KD)
KD 1 = US $ 3.2445
The currency is accepted worldwide and complies with the International Monetary Fund exchange regulations.


Islam is the official religion; Muslims %85, others %15 (mostly Christians and Hindu).


240 volts, 50 cycles AC

Business hours:

Shops: 8.30am-12.30pm and 4.30-9.00pm
Banks: 8.30am-12.30pm, Sunday to Thursday
All banks have 24-hour Automated Teller Machine (ATM) facilities.
Working week: Saturday to Thursday
Private firms usually work half a day on Thursday.
Government offices (including educational establishments) are generally closed on Thursday and Friday.

Public holidays

1st January: New Year's Day

25th February: National Day

25th February: Liberation Day

Other public holidays occurring at variable dates every year according the Gregorian calendar include:

Mount Arafat Day, Eid Al-Adha (three days holiday).

Islamic New Year's Day.

Birth Day of Prophet Mohamed.

Al-Esra wa Al-Mi'raj (Prophet Mohamed's ascension to Heaven).

Eid El-Fitr (three days holiday).

International dialing code


Time zone

GMT + 3 hours

As you like 'Overview of Kuwait' you may also like following articles . . .

Overview of Yemen

Official name Republic of Yemen Capital Sana'a, in the north, is the political capital Aden, the former capital of South Yemen, is the commercial capital Main Port al-Hudayah on the Red...

Business Hours in Sudan

Shops open from 8am to 2pm, and from 6pm to 8pm. Government offices open from 8am to 2:30pm, and banks from 8:30am till noon, Saturday to Thursday. Friday is the official Muslim day of...

Business Hours in Qatar

Offices and shops are usually open from 8:00am to noon and reopen again in the afternoon from 4:00 or 5:00 to 7:00 or later. The shopping malls stay open until 9:00 or 10:00pm. Friday is...

Public Holidays in Qatar

Friday is the weekly holiday with many business working only a half day on Thursday. Embassies and government offices are closed on Thursday. The Muslim holidays of Eid Al-Fitr (at the end...

Overview of Saudi Arabia

Official name The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (Al-Mamlaka al-Arabiya as-Saudiya) Capital Riyadh (4.300.000 people, estimation of 2001) Population 17,050,934 (1992 estimate) Population density...

The People of Kuwait

There are essentially five levels of Kuwaiti society: the ruling family, the old Kuwaiti merchant families, former Bedouins who settled in Kuwait, Arabs from other countries and foreigners...

Working hours in Oman

Government hours 7:30/8:00am-2:00pm Saturday through Wednesday. Thursday: 7:30/8:00am-1:00pm. Business hours 8:00am-1:00pm and 4:00pm-7:00/7:30pm, except Friday evening. Most businesses...