Overview of Morocco

Overview of Morocco Last updated on Thursday 22nd April 2010

Official name

Kingdom of Morocco ( al-Mamlakah al -Maghribiyyah)



Political System

Constitutional monarchy, elected parliament, multiparty democracy.


Population 30,122,000 (estimate July 2000).

Population growth

1.74% (estimate 2000)

Urban Population

52% (1990-1999).

Surface area

446.550 km².


Arabic (official), French (the second official language for the administration and businesses), Berber dialects (not official, but used in some publications, radio and TV programmes)


Muslims 98%, Christian 1.8%, Jewish 0.2%.


Dirham, divided into 100 francs
Exchange rates are fluctuating, but published in daily newspapers' business section.

Gross Domestic Product

GDP per capita: US $ 1,296 (1998).

Year of independence

2 March 1956 from France.


220 volts in new buildings
110 volts in older structures
2 pin round plugs are the norm.

Banking hours

8.15-11.30am and 2.15-4.00p.m Mon. to Fri.
8.00am-3.00pm summer months
9.30am to 2.00pm during Ramadan.
Bureaux de Change can be found airports and most hotels.

International dialing code


Time zone


National Holidays

January 1: New Year (Gregorian calendar)
January 11: Independence Manifesto
March 3: Throne Day
May 1: Labor Day
May 23: National Day (Amendment of the Constitution)
July 9: Youth Day (King's Birthday)
August 14: Commemoration of Oued Eddahab
August 20: Revolution of the King and the People
November 6: Commemoration of the Green March
November 18: Independence Day

Religious holidays

These are observed for 2 working days. Since they are based on the Lunar calendar, their dates vary each year and are fixed after the sight of the moon.

1st of Moharram: New Year (Muslim calendar)
12th of Rabi Al Awal: Aid El Mawlid (Birth of the Prophet Mohamed)
1st of Shawwal: Aid El Fitr (end of Ramadan)
10th of Dhu Al Hijja: Aid El Adha (Commemoration of Abraham's sacrifice)

As you like 'Overview of Morocco' you may also like following articles . . .

Public Holidays in Algeria

New Years Day: 1 January Labour Day: 1 May Commemoration Day: 19 June Independence Day: 5 July Anniversary of the Revolution: 1 November Would you please note that Eid Al-Fitr, Eid Al-Adha...

Overview of Kuwait

Official name Kuwait (Dawlat al-Kuwayt) Administrative divisions 5 governances Capital Kuwait (Al-Kuwayt), 1.090.000 people (1996) Other cities Al-Jahra (139.476 people), as-Salimiyah (116....

Overview of Saudi Arabia

Official name The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (Al-Mamlaka al-Arabiya as-Saudiya) Capital Riyadh (4.300.000 people, estimation of 2001) Population 17,050,934 (1992 estimate) Population density...

Overview of Tunisia

Official name Republic of Tunisia (Aj-jamhouryya At-tonisyya) Type of government Multiparty republic Capital Tunis Major cities Tunis (capital), Sfax, Sousse, Bizerte. Area 163,610 sq....

Language of Morocco

Arabic is Morocco's official language, spoken by about three-quarters of the population. The various Berber dialects are still spoken in rural areas but with less frequency. French is...

Overview of Libya

Official title Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Capital Tripoli (population 1,083,000; 1988 estimate) Main port Tripoli Additional urban centre Benghazi (population 446,250;...

Qatar Overview

Conventional Name State of Qatar / Dawlat Qatar. Capital Doha Head of State (Amir) HAMAD bin Khalifa Al-Thani. Prime Minister ABDALLAH bin Khalifa Al-Thani. Area 11,437 sq km (4,...