Overview of Mauritania

Overview of Mauritania Last updated on Thursday 22nd April 2010

Overview Mauritania

Official Name

Mauritania (al-Jumhuriyah al-Islamiyah al-Muritaniyah)

Government type:



Nouakchott 800,000 people (1996).

Other cities

Nouadhibou 72,305; Kaédi 35,241; Kiffa 29,300; Rosso 27,783 (1992).


2,747,312 (estimation of July 2001)

Population growth

2.93% (estimation of 2001)

Administrative divisions

12 regions and the district of Nouakchott: Adrar, Assaba, Brakna, Dakhlet Nouadhibou, Gorgol, Guidimaka, Hodh Ech Chargui, Hodh El Gharbi, Inchiri, Nouakchott, Tagant, Tiris Zemmour, Trarza.

Executive Branch

Chief of state: President Col. Maaouya Ould Sid Ahmed TAYA.

Cabinet: Council of Ministers

Elections: president elected by popular vote for a six-year term; election last held 12 December 1997 (next to be held NA December 2003);

Prime minister appointed by the president

Election results: President Col. Maaouya Ould Sid Ahmed TAYA reelected with 90.9% of the vote

Legislative branch

Bicameral legislature consists of the Senate or Majlis al-Shuyukh (The Senate) [56 seats]: 17 up for election every two years; members elected by municipal leaders to serve six-year terms) and the National Assembly or Majlis al-Watani (National assembly) [79 seats]; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
Eelections: Senate - last held 17 April 1998 (next to be held NA 2001); National Assembly - last held 11 and 18 October 1996 (next to be held NA 2001)
Election results: Senate - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NA; National Assembly - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - PRDS 71, AC 1, independents and other 7

Judicial branch

Supreme court or Cour Sureme; Court of Appeals; lower courts.

National Holiday

November 28, 1960

As you like 'Overview of Mauritania' you may also like following articles . . .

Govt. of Mauritania: National

Mauritania is a republic. Its elected president is Maaouya Ould Taya. and its legislature consists of the National Assembly and the Senate. There are 12 political regions. The government...

Government of Egypt

Government type Republic Administrative divisions 26 governorates : Ad Daqahliyah, Al Bahr al Ahmar, Al Buhayrah, Al Fayyum, Al Gharbiyah, Al Iskandariyah, Al Isma'iliyah, Al Gizah, Al...

Tunisia Govt.: National

Tunisia is a republic with a president who is the chief executive of the country and has considerable powers over the cabinet, prime minister, and armed forces. The executive cabinet is...

National Structure of Algeria

After a century of rule by France, Algeria became independent in 1962. The surprising first round success of the fundamentalist FIS (Islamic Salvation Front) party in December 1991...

Somalia Govt.: The Pre-War Electorate

The overthrow of President Muhammad Siad Barre in January 1991 and the subsequent anarchy have left Somalia in a state of civil war with no clear central authority. Previously, under an...

Lebanon Govt. - National

Lebanon is a republic with a president, a cabinet and unicameral National Assembly. Until 1990 an unwritten agreement known as the National Pact specified that the president had to be a...

Constitution of Comoros

According to the 1992 constitution, the head of state is a president elected by universal suffrage for a term of five years. There is in addition a legislative branch of government -- the...