Sultan Qaboos University

Sultan Qaboos University


Sultan Qaboos University
P.O. Box 50
Muscat 123

Sultan Qaboos University is the realization of the promise announced by His. Majesty Sultan Qaboos Bin Said during the 10th anniversary of Oman’s National Day in 1980. Construction started in 1982 and the first Sultan Qaboos University students were enrolled in 1986. In accordance with the Royal Directives of His Majesty, The University commenced with five colleges; namely Medicine, Engineering, Agriculture, Education and Science. Furthermore the College of Arts was established in 1987, following the College of Commerce and Economics which was developed in 1993. The College of Law joined the University in 2006 and finally the College of Nursing was established in 2008.

The design and construction of the campus was carried out with great attention to the fulfillment of these objectives, with the overall appearance of the buildings carefully planned to accommodate the physical, intellectual, and spiritual needs of students, faculty and staff.

Set in a valley beneath the stark panorama of the nearby foothills of the Oman Mountains, the University is a tasteful array of buildings designed with arches and courtyards and constructed in white and pink sandstone in a manner that reflects traditional Omani and Islamic architecture. The University was constructed on an axis in the valley with one end aligned toward Mecca.

This axis line starts at the gates of entrance to the University, runs through the Administration Building with its massive Omani doors, and extends uninterrupted through the middle of the academic buildings to the University Mosque at the western end of the campus. The Mosque, with its large dome and minarets, is situated on the higher ground of the campus, and is visible from many points within and around the University.

During the design period, the University landscaping was carefully considered and the original plantings have since become verdant gardens and flower beds. The plantings include species, native to Oman and other Gulf regions, that grow and flourish in an arid environment. The landscaping provides shade from the sun, shelter against the wind, and splendid display of colour from flowers and foliage throughout the year.

The traditional Islamic separation of the genders is maintained in the architecture of the University. There is separate access to buildings through lower and upper walkways for men and women and separate seating in the classrooms.

Altogether, the campus portrays the rich heritage of Oman and Islam while incorporating all the efficiencies of modern life. The result is an educational and living environment which is both functional and attractive.

Sultan Qaboos University seeks to achieve excellence in all areas of teaching and learning, research and community service. It also seeks to promote the principles of scientific analysis and creative thinking, to participate in the production, development and dissemination of knowledge, and to interact with national and international communities.

Contact Info
+968 24141111
+968 24413391
As you like 'Sultan Qaboos University' you may also like following listings . . .

Prince Sultan University

Prince Sultan University was originally founded in 1999 as Prince Sultan Private College, but, in 2003, the Ministry of Higher Education declared it to be a university. It was inaugurated...

Oman - Sultan Qaboos bin Said

Sultan Qaboos bin Said was born in Salalah in Dhofar on the 18th of November 1940. He is the only son of the late Sultan Said bin Taimur and is eighth in the direct line of the Al Busaidi...

Ain Shams University

Ain Shams University, as the third Egyptian university, was founded in July 1950 under the name of "Ibrahim Pasha University". It participated with the two earlier universities, "Cairo...

University of Duhok

The University of Duhok (UoD) was established on October 31st, 1992, with two colleges and 149 students. Today, the University has expanded to contain 17 colleges and the Higher Institute...

University of Sharjah

The University of Sharjah was established as a non-profit institution for higher education in October 1997 by His Highness Sheikh Dr. Sultan Bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Member of the Supreme...

An-Najah National University

An-Najah National University was established as An-Najah Nabulsi School in 1918. In 1941 it became An-Najah College, and by 1963 it was functioning as a two-year community college. In 1977...

South Valley University

Teaching in South Valley University (SVU), a former branch of Assiut University, began in October 1970. Its main campus is located in Qena, a city which is 600 km south Cairo, SVU is...