Qatar Govt. Authority Within the State

Qatar Govt. Authority Within the State Last updated on Saturday 24th April 2010

The Emir

The Emir is the Head of State. The present Emir is His Highness Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani, son of the former Emir, Sheikh Khalifa bin Hamad Al-Thani.

The Emir is authorised to issues decrees on the advice of the Council of Ministers and in consultation with the Advisory Council.

The Emir, assisted by the Council of Ministers, has executive power within the State. The Emir thus holds both legislative and executive powers with the assistance of the Council of Ministers and the Advisory Council.

The Council of Ministers

The present government includes fifteen ministries. They are as follows:



Public Health

Finance, Economy & Commerce


Foreign Affairs

Endowments and Islamic Affairs

Municipal Affairs and Agriculture

Emiri Diwan Affairs

Transport & Communication


Electricity & Water

Labour, Housing & Social Affairs

Energy & Industry

Information & Culture

The Council of Ministers is the supreme executive authority and is presided over by the Emir who directs, supervises and coordinates the work of the Ministers and the State Agencies. In addition, the Emir also issues instructions to the government and signs all resolutions passed by the Council of Ministers.

The Advisory Council

The formation of the Advisory Council is included in the Constitution of 19 April 1972. It consists of 30 members chosen for their good judgement and competence to represent all sectors of society all regions of the country.

The Advisory Council has the following responsibilities:

To debate the general policy of the State

To debate the social and cultural affairs of the State

To debate draft laws proposed by the Council of Ministers

To discuss the draft budget of major public projects

To request information from the Ministers and the ministries regarding matters within their control

To express its opinion in the form of recommendations and wishes

The Advisory Council has the following three main bodies:

The Presidency

The Council's Office

The Council's Committees

The Legal & Legislative Affairs Committee

The Financial & Economic Affairs Committee

The Public Services & Utilities Affairs Committee

The Domestic & Foreign Affairs Committee

The Cultural Affairs & Information Committee

Each committee must have at least five members and each member of the Council must serve on at least one committee. The Council may form other committees as needed. Committee meetings and debates are held behind closed doors.

As you like 'Qatar Govt. Authority Within the State' you may also like following articles . . .

Qatar Govt.: Introduction

Qatar is an emirate ruled by Sheikh Hamad Khalifa Al-Thani, who is the head of state. According to the modified provisional constitution, the Emir decrees laws upon the recommendation of...

The State and System of the Kuwait Government

According to its constitution, Kuwait is a fully independent Arab state with a democratic system of rule and sovereignty is vested in the nation which represents the sources of all power....

The Supreme Council of Information & Communications Technology (ictQatar)

Information and Communication Technology (ICT) improves how they live and work in countless ways. The Supreme Council of Information and Communication Technology - ictQATAR - helps deliver...

Oman Government - Introduction

The Omani government has been progressively modernized and liberalized since Sultan Qaboos came to power in 1970. As sultan, Qaboos is head of state, prime minister, and minister of foreign...

Qatar Olympic committee

With the diversification and intensification of sport activities and participation of the Qatar National Teams in international, regional, and continental competitions in the mid 1970's,...

Supreme Education Council

Established by Emiri decree #37 in November 2002, the Supreme Education Council (SEC) directs the nation’s education policy. It plays an integral role in the development and implementation...

UAE Govt.: Introduction

123 Each emirate, Abu Dhabi [picture 1], Dubai [picture 2], Sharjah [picture 3], Ajman, Umm al-Qaiwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah, is named after its principal town. Sheikh Zaid bin...