Overview of Tunisia

Overview of Tunisia Last updated on Monday 26th April 2010

Overview Tunisia

Official name

Republic of Tunisia (Aj-jamhouryya At-tonisyya)

Type of government

Multiparty republic



Major cities

Tunis (capital), Sfax, Sousse, Bizerte.


163,610 sq. km


9.4 million (1999)

Demographic growth rate

1.12% (1999)


Arabic (official), French is widely spoken, some English and Italian


Sunni Islam (with the existence of Christian and Jewish communities)

Monetary Unit

Tunisian Dinar (TD1.34=US$1)

Natural resources

Crude oil, phosphate, iron ore, lead, zinc, salt


The voltage is 220V, except for some places in the extreme south where it is 110

Weights and measures


Business hours

Banks: 8:00-11:00am/2:00-5:00pm Mon. to Thurs.; 8:00am-11: 00am/1:00pm-3: 00pm Fri
Many banks close in the afternoons in summer. In Tunis, some banks have extended hours, and in most tourist resorts money can be changed in hotels and bureau de change establishments.
Hours of business vary in summer, winter and Ramadan.

International dialing code


Time zone

GMT + 1 hour

National holiday

March 20 (Independence Day)

As you like 'Overview of Tunisia' you may also like following articles . . .

Working hours in Oman

Government hours 7:30/8:00am-2:00pm Saturday through Wednesday. Thursday: 7:30/8:00am-1:00pm. Business hours 8:00am-1:00pm and 4:00pm-7:00/7:30pm, except Friday evening. Most businesses...

Algeria overview

Official name Al-Jumhuriya al-Jazairia ash-Shaabiya Head of government Prime Minister Capital Algiers (population over 3 million) Other cities Oran (pop. over 1 million)...

Overview of Jordan

Official name Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan (al-Mamlakah al-Urdunniya al-Hashimiyah) Capital Amman Population: 2,3000,000 people (estimation of 1995). 936,300 Other cities Az-Zarqa (344,500...

Overview of Republic of Lebanon

Official name Republic of Lebanon (Ajjamhouriyya Al-lubnaniyya) Capital Beirut Location Middle East, bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Israel and Syria Population Between 3 and 4...

Overview of Morocco

Official name Kingdom of Morocco ( al-Mamlakah al -Maghribiyyah) Capital Rabat Political System Constitutional monarchy, elected parliament, multiparty democracy. Population Population 30,...

Overview of Kuwait

Official name Kuwait (Dawlat al-Kuwayt) Administrative divisions 5 governances Capital Kuwait (Al-Kuwayt), 1.090.000 people (1996) Other cities Al-Jahra (139.476 people), as-Salimiyah (116....

Qatar Overview

Conventional Name State of Qatar / Dawlat Qatar. Capital Doha Head of State (Amir) HAMAD bin Khalifa Al-Thani. Prime Minister ABDALLAH bin Khalifa Al-Thani. Area 11,437 sq km (4,...